The College of Chiropractors of Alberta is governed by a Council of 10 persons:

  • Five chiropractors, elected by regulated members in good standing
  • Five public members appointed by the Government of Alberta.

Public members provide a critically necessary public-oriented perspective and ensure decisions and actions made by Council are in the best interest of Albertans.

The Chair and Vice-Chair are elected by sitting Council members.

Council governs in a manner that respects and protects the privilege of self-regulation granted to the profession by the Health Professions Act. Council is responsible for making decisions that best serve the public interest and ensure the quality of chiropractic care in Alberta.

Council protects and serves Albertans by defining and implementing a Code of Ethics, Standards of Practice, and Bylaws to ensure Alberta chiropractors provide high quality, competent and ethical chiropractic care.

Connecting with Council

Council is committed to connecting with members and to ensure the broadest possible understanding of CCOA activities.

CCOA members are encouraged to contact their assigned Council member (or the Council member of their choice) with any questions or concerns. Additionally, members will occasionally receive Council News, an e-newsletter which is sent out on an as-needed basis, and which reports on special Council news and decisions. 

Which Council member should regulated members contact?

If your surname...

  • begins with A, J, K, N, D, contact Dr. Brad Kane
  • begins with M, O, Q, T or W, contact Dr. Kirsten Baxter  
  • begins with B, C, F, U or Y, contact Dr. Jason Hollingsworth
  • begins with E, L, P, R, G, contact Dr. Zara Brayer
  • begins with I, S, Z, H, V, X, contact Dr. Susanne Morris

How to contact Council

Please email [email protected]. Please put the name of the Council member you would like to reach in the subject line, i.e.: Attention: name of Council member. 

See the Council directory below. 

Council members

Dr. Brad Kane

Dr. Kirsten Baxter

Dr. Susanne Morris

Dr. Jason Hollingsworth
Vice Chair

Dr. Zara Brayer

Public Council members

Ms. Alethea Austin

Ms. Ashley Runka Owens

Ms. Patricia Pelton
Finance Chair